First Full Day

Today was my first full day out in the field filming.  I headed down to an old beetlekill spot in the Belleplain State Forest to try my luck at capturing some moments in the life of a Southern Pine Beetle.  I didn’t see quite as much action as I was hoping for, but I still caught a few SPB-related shots, like this one of a beetle swimming through pine resin in order to enter the tree (the beetle on the right has already been defeated by the toxic, viscous resin):

Screenshot

I also ran into a couple other insects in the forest that took my eyes off the SPB from time to time.  Here are a few highlights:

A buck moth (Hemileuca maia) caterpillar (I believe)

Screenshot

A yellow fly (Diachlorus ferrugatus?)

Leave a Reply

